If you’ve been charged with drug possession for the first time, you may be distressed and unsure of what is going to happen next. The severity of the charge will depend on the individual circumstances of your case, such as the type of drug and amount you were carrying.
If you’re caught with a controlled substance, this is a Class C felony. Controlled substances include heroin, cocaine, methamphetamine, and oxycodone. If you’re found guilty, you could face up to five years in prison, as well as up to $10,000 to pay in fines.
In Washington, you’re legally allowed to use marijuana medically and recreationally. But there are still limits on how much you can have and the age you can use it. You must be over the age of 21. For example, if you’re 18 and possess less than 40 grams, this is a misdemeanor. This could mean spending up to 90 days in prison, with a $1000 fine.
Next Steps After Being Charged With Possession
There are possible defenses you can consider for your case. This includes entrapment, unwitting possession and Fourth Amendment violations. But the most important thing you can do if you face a possession charge in Washington is to find acriminal lawyer. You could face a long sentence for drug possession if you don’t find good representation. A lawyer for a shoplifting charge will know the best way to represent your case and use any defenses that are suitable.
At Rodriguez Interiano Hanson & Rodgers, we have an experienced team with a criminal defense attorney that can help you. We make sure every case is thoroughly examined and researched before offering you suitable representation. We know Washington State and federal law inside and out, using a variety of tactics in order to build a successful defense for you. We understand it can be stressful and confusing when you have a possession charge in Washington. That is why we offer support throughout the process and make sure that your case is fairly considered by all parties to reach the best outcome.